Uncategorized

The best writing advice I have ever received–

This is my first post after creating this blog. I have been following and reading some blogs lately to get a sense of how to mantain a blog as this is my first blog so I have no idea what to do. This is my goal: a post once a week seems like a good start. As the title of my blog suggests, I will post random things on here but appropriate. The reason I created this blog is to improve my writing skills. I hope those who will read and follow my blog will give me suggestions and tips on how to hone my writing skills.
Meanwhile, I hope you enjoy this piece of advice on writing from a blog that I have been following. It seems like just the thing you need for you (especially me) to pick up a pen and start writing. Hope you guys find it helpful.

bikes&bluestockings

–was from the esteemed Ira Glass:

“Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase; they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its…

View original post 382 more words

8 thoughts on “The best writing advice I have ever received–”

  1. Hi Pomegranatelover, thank-you for stumbling across my blog! I am very much at the same stage as you… However, I’m still trying to configure my page properly! I’ve just started my blog again after closing it down on another site last year, life took over a little but I’m so glad to be up and running again. I missed writing. Having a desire to at least blog once a week or day or whatever you choose makes you more aware of your thoughts, surroundings and the people you encounter… Always looking for the next subject to write about. You’ll find blogging such a wonderful outlet for expression and sharing those fabulous randomly random thoughts of yours… To add to the above advise is to just keep writing… When I was training for a half marathon a friend said it’s all about spending time on your feet… fitness and speed will come in time – I see the same in writing. You’ve got to dedicate the time and just write. Write about what you know and love and you’ll be surprised at how inspired you can be!! Look forward to reading some of your random thoughts, however random they may be!

    1. I know, it is still taking me time to familiarize myself with the settings and all. Thank you so much for the advise, I needed that. I am actually glad I started off this blog by sharing your wonderful tips on writing. It was just the thing I needed, thank you for letting us in on the secret. Now that I am free for a while after finishing off this semester a couple of days go, I can finally focus on getting some writing done. I hope you will enjoy reading my random thoughts! 🙂

  2. Hi! Pleased to make your acquaintance, fellow pomegranate lover. Thank you for visiting and following my blog. I’m definitely following you back. And yes, it will be lovely to exchange ideas on what we’re doing, and how we can get better at it. Looking forward to your texts.

  3. Congratulations on starting up your blog! There is something wonderful about the process of sitting down at the computer and writing, not knowing who out in the greater world out there might be touched by what you say. Thank you for following me at Triggershorse. – Fawn

Leave a Reply

