Daily Posts, Random

Pick Your Gadget – A Tough Decision

Your local electronics store has just started selling time machines, anywhere doors, and invisibility helmets. You can only afford one. Which of these do you buy, and why?

Hmm…this is a tough one! Let me think.

It is a tie between time machines and anywhere doors. I have no use for invisibility helmets because well, I don’t need it. As simple as that. Maybe I do. Nah. Forget it.

The first time I read the prompt, I made a decision without thinking things through: Time machine. Why did I pick that? Simple, If I own that, I would be able to go back in time and see the ones that I miss today. I mentioned here that I lost someone very dear to me. I would want to go back just to see her. And maybe some other places too! Also, I will be able to see the memories I am so fond of once again right before my eyes, wouldn’t that be great?! Am I getting this time machine concept right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

After rereading the prompt again, this is my decision: Anywhere Doors. I can go to any places I want to without having to drive from here to there in a car or even get on a plane. Just makes life easier, don’t you think?! You can just open the door wishing it to take you to a particular place you have in your mind and VOILA! You are there! It would be amazing! No need to spend your money on gas and other travel expenses that we face every day, right? Awesome! But then, do we need to worry about the traffic in this situation? That, I am not so sure.

Final decision is this: Anywhere Doors. Now, why didn’t I stick with my first choice? Going back in time means that I am not letting go of things that I am supposed to. I have to accept it sooner or later. It is better for me If I accept it sooner. We have all heard of the following phrase, “everything happens for a reason.”ย  It is true. Even if you have managed to change something you don’t like from happening, it will inevitably happen sometime in the near future because it is meant to. Maybe we have won a couple of times from stopping whatever it was, but those victories do not guarantee us that we will win again. Maybe we can delay it from happening so soon, but that does not mean that it will never happen. We just don’t have the power to stop things from happening;maybe we can in some situations, but not all. We can just be optimistic by thinking: “Whatever He does is for our own good.” Because He knows what is good for us and will do it accordingly. This, I believe.

The Wandering Poet ย ย  Rain’s Writing Realmย  ย ย Life – Half Glass Full

10 thoughts on “Pick Your Gadget – A Tough Decision”

  1. I lost someone, who was the closest to me than anyone has, or ever will too and I can totally relate with you on going back. Well said too, on moving forward ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I so enjoyed your post. Especially the end. โ€œWhatever He does is for our own good.โ€ Because He knows what is good for us and will do it accordingly. This, I believe.” So very true!

      1. It ws truly my pleasure. I so agree. I often have Christian-flavoured posts as well as a blog that is a daily devotional that is about overcoming depression with God.
        I love to share His love. Such a wonderful blessing to do so. ๐Ÿ™‚
        Easter

      2. That’s great! Actually, I am a Hindu. Though both (Christian and Hindu) are different religions, I believe the intentions are similar like the one we discussed above. No God wants us to suffer, we are His children. He looks after us ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

