Daily Posts, Journal

Finders, Keepers?

While walking on the beach you stumble on a valuable object buried in the sand — say, a piece of jewelry or an envelope full of cash. What do you do with it? Under what circumstances would you keep it?

Hmm…I don’t know what I would do.

Part of me says to just bag whatever I found in the sand and run with it. Another part of me orders, “Shut up, you greedy moron! Take it to the police this instant.” I am in a dilemma, though I know that I should take it to the local authority. But what if it is something that is so valuable that you cannot find it anywhere else in the whole wide world? That can be a problem. I would want to keep it but then I am not stupid enough to steal it. I would definitely hand it over to the police or someone of equivalent authority as it is my duty.

My mother taught me that even if you forcefully own something that  rightfully belongs to someone else, you will never be able to profit from it. As they say, it was never yours and will never be.  It won’t  do or bring you any good. Let me suppose that I took it against my best judgement, I will definitely feel guilty in my stomach (a feeling that I really hate) and this sensation is enough to bring me back to reality and this automatically leads me in the direction that I initially should have picked, which is taking it to the local authority.

Also, I am a very strict believer of karma and as they say, “what goes around comes around.” I definitely don’t want to be on the receiving end of it. No, thank you.

Answer: Nope, not gonna keep it. It is going straight to the police.

Please check the responses of other bloggers here.

Thanks for reading! 🙂

P.S. I am finally home which is why  I gotta answer today’s prompt this soon instead of late at night. Feels good!

2 thoughts on “Finders, Keepers?”

Leave a Reply

