Book Reviews

Book Review #2: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn [SPOILER]

Gone Girl cover

I should start off saying a HUGE thanks to IndianHumor for recommending it to me. Thank you so much girl!! (To my readers (if I have any for that matter): Please, if you have any sense of humor, do visit her site. If you are in the mood to read something light and funny, then you should definitely go visit her. You wouldn’t regret it.)

First of all, this is a very good book and I recommend it everyone who haven’t read it yet to pick it up and get blown away by Gillian Flynn’s craft! I am telling, go buy it NOW! I am not forcing you but really, do it this instant! This is me just stalling…okay fine, here I go.

Genre: Fiction – Thriller!! (Now you see my point in forcing you to read this one? Good! If not, I can’t help you.)

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick Dunne’s clever and beautiful wife disappears from their rented McMansion on the Mississippi River. Husband-of-the-Year Nick Dunne isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but hearing from Amy through flashbacks in her diary reveal the perky perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer? As the cops close in, every couple in town is soon wondering how well they know the one that they love. With his twin sister Margo at his side, Nick stands by his innocence. Trouble is, if Nick didn’t do it, where is that beautiful wife? And what was left in that silvery gift box hidden in the back of her bedroom closet?

– Copied from the author’s website

I will try my best to not give away any spoilers okay? Now If I do (not at all intentional), please don’t frown. It is so hard giving a review on this one without giving away some spoilers…You will understand my problem once you have read the book. So bear with me now, don’t go away.

The book is divided into three parts…

The first part alternates between Nick’s point of view on current affairs and Amy’s dairy starting from the past and slowly creeping into the present. As you can tell from the plagiarized info above, Amy goes missing…deliberately to teach Nick a lesson or two. It is her way of getting back to those who have in a way or other offended her – proven by the “friends” of Amy’s past. Here, you will tend to hate Nick for being calm and impassive to the situation…not at all worried by his wife’s missing. It made me a little annoyed at him but I don’t blame him as the author and Amy’s diary made it seem like that. I actually thought he was responsible for whatever happened to Amy but in the second part, I was totally taken by surprise! I was not at all expecting that. Hats off to Amy and the author!

Now to the second part…

I hated Nick in the previous part and was sympathizing with Amy. However, after the first part, I was confused as to who should I like or hate. It all got confusing!

Amy’s diary plays a very crucial part in the story as it was the one she uses to frame Nick for something he hadn’t done. You wouldn’t pay much attention to it in the first part…well, actually you would, but you will know the importance of it when you get to the second part. This part of all parts is my favorite! It was brilliant! This is where the story picks up speed. This is where you wouldn’t want to put that book down. I am not at all exaggerating it, I am just telling you guys the truth. I want to reveal more about this part but I am afraid if I let any word come from my lips about it that I will just spoil that thrilling emotion you will feel when you read it…

Amy is fucking (excuse my language) clever! She had set every piece of evidence against him and the police believed it.

Now comes the last part…

I feel very sorry for Nick…

To be honest, I was very disappointed with this one. It just didn’t feel right. After reading the middle, I was expecting a little more satisfying ending but no. The speed that was in the second part dropped right down to zero abruptly in the end. I just hate it! It felt like as if the author was tired with the story and just wanted to end it as soon as possible. It felt like she was rushing to finish it. It just didn’t feel right. It doesn’t add up to what she has written…She could have done better. I absolutely hate the ending, there is no doubt!

Actually, the story began to lose my interest in the second part itself…it began I think during the last part of the second part.

What I liked the most: 1.) Needless to say, the “false” diary. 2.) The way Amy wrote her diary with multiple choice questions.

I am looking forward to the movie version and I heard they changed the ending!! I can’t wait to see it when it comes out!

Happy writing and reading, y’all!

6 thoughts on “Book Review #2: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn [SPOILER]”

  1. You’re absolutely welcome for the book recommendation. And thanks for the credit! But I have to say this post has spoilers…massive spoilers. So you may want to add the word spoiler to the title…people who haven’t read will not want to know certain plot twists you’ve included in the review…just a suggestion of course! Can’t wait for the movie myself 🙂 what are you picking up next?

      1. I have only read ‘the 8th confession’ by James Patterson. Was not a big fan of it so dropped his books for now. I am currently half way through ‘Caught’ by Harlan Coben (my current favorite author after George R R Martin) 🙂

      2. Oh I see. Invisible is a standalone thriller, give it a try…really really good. It was a little scary for me!
        Harlan Coben…a nice author but haven’t read Caught though.
        I am reading Game of Throne series…Orphan train…

Leave a Reply

