Uncategorized

My thoughts on “My Sister’s Keeper” by Jodi Picoult

I have recently decided to read the above book and in fact, I am surprised that I was able to finish it given the many feelings I had to go through while reading it. Believe me, I had wanted to put it down countless times but my curiosity got the better of me for I just had to know how it was going to end. 

Once I finished it, I was moody for the rest of the day. I felt many emotions, most of them being frustration, disappointment, etc. I never thought that a book could bring out various feelings from me. Really. Seriously, it was pure struggle for me to complete it. Even now, as I write this post, it is hard to maintain some kind of order with this post as my mind is not in order, it’s everywhere. I think you could tell that as it seems to reflect in this post.

I could tell you this: I am not going to read this book ever again. I’m not against the author but the feelings the story brought out in me. 

Why should one give up one of the most precious things in order to gain something?! It just does not make any sense. Reminded me of something John Locke says in the series, “Lost”: something about giving up something to the island in return for something better (not necessarily better but just something needed at the time). 

Nonetheless, here is a quote from it:

“If you have a sister and she dies, do you stop saying you have one? Or are you always a sister, even when the other half of the equation is gone?”

I this this quote sums up all that there is to know about the story presented by Jodi Picoult in “My Sister’s Keeper.”

I’m going to start reading “The Husband’s Secret” by Moriarty and have been reading “Crime and Punishment” by Dostoevsky.

Happy reading and writing, y’all!

Pomegranate Lover

Leave a Reply

