Book Reviews, Journal, Random, Uncategorized

Re: The Sprit Catches You and You Fall Down

I have just finished reading the above book. It is truly a very sad story!

To be honest, I did not actually read every single word in the book as I skipped some chapters that I couldn’t get myself to read, such as the background info of the Hmong people. (This tells me that I will have to start reading history books, to get used to reading histories!)

Has anyone of you read this book? It is terrifying! Regardless of what you might think of me later, let me say the following: After having read about Lia Lee (the child on the front cover), I am thankful for a lot of things in my life. I mean, think about it. We do not appreciate the blessing and fortunes that we have till we come across someone or someone’s story whose life was (or is) much harder than the ones we have lead or currently leading.

Let us forget about the the one who is actually going through difficult times, but think of the ones who have to watch their beloved ones suffer! Specifically, a mother who has to watch her child fighting to survive, how awful it must be for her to see her child that she gave birth to suffering from severe medical problems?! Just try to put yourself in her shoes (not literally) and think/feel from her perspective! It is agonizing!

I am not sure whether I would like to read the book again mainly due to the bad memories that this book brings back.

I would love to know about the feelings of those who have read this particular book! I am itching to discuss about it with the ones that have read it.

Oh, on a brighter note, I finally went to the library and got that Dicken’s novel (Great Expectations). I seriously need to read something that is light after having read the above book.

Well, happy reading and writing, y’all!

Leave a Reply

